Governor Abbott Issues A Disaster Declaration

Kelli Wiese
April 17, 2019 - 4:35 pm
Gov. Greg Abbott



AUSTIN (1080 KRLD) - Governor Greg Abbott issued a disaster declaration today for nine Texas counties.

It's after the severe weather over the weekend. The counties include: Houston, Cherokee, Freestone, Leon, Madison, Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Shelby and Robertson. 

Governor Abbott says he wants to make sure people with widespread property damage can recover as quickly as possible. The National Weather Service has confirmed three tornadoes touched down in Central and East Texas Saturday. At least six people were killed.