Governor Greg Abbott

credit: Gabe Hernandez/Caller-Times via USA TODAY NETWORK

Governor Honors 2018 Texas Women's Hall Of Fame Inductees

January 18, 2019 - 5:01 pm

By: Chris Fox

AUSTIN (1080 KRLD) - Governor Greg Abbott delivered remarks to the 2018 inductees at the Texas Women’s Hall Of Fame luncheon. He recognized the honorees for their accomplishments and thanked them for their contributions to the state of Texas.

“Today, we recognize seven extraordinary women whose strength, perseverance, and passion truly embody what it means to be a Texan,” said Governor Abbott. “Each of these women have left their own unique mark on the Lone Star State, and as we gather today, Texas is better because of their contributions. On behalf of the state of Texas, Cecilia and I thank you for the profound impact you have had on our state and in the lives of so many.”

The 2018 Texas Women’s Hall Of Fame Honorees are:

Former First Lady Laura Bush (Public Service)

Senator Judith Zaffirini (Public Service)

Susan Dell (Philanthropy)

Tammie Jo Shults (Leadership)

Vikki Carr (Arts)

Simone Biles (Athletics)

Sister Elizabeth Anne Sueltenfuss (Education)

The Texas Women’s Hall of Fame was established in 1984 by the Texas Governor’s Commission for Women.

The Commission specializes in providing leadership through outreach, education, research, and referral services to advance the goals and initiatives of the Office of the Governor and the Office of the First Lady by focusing on: Women-owned Businesses; Education through Science, Technology, Engineering, The Arts, and Mathematics (STEAM); Volunteerism; Women and Children’s Health; and Women Veterans and Service Members.