Gov. Abbott Issues Disaster Declaration For 16 Texas Counties

NewsRadio 1080 KRLD
October 21, 2019 - 2:38 pm
Texas Governor Greg Abbott

© Xinhua

DALLAS (1080 KRLD) - Texas Governor Greg Abbott has issued a disaster declaration for 16 counties in the state including Dallas, Tarrant and Collin Counties.

The Governor's office says in addition to providing any and all state resources to local officials, this declaration will waive certain regulations, allowing utility companies to bring in out-of-state resources to assist in restoring power as quickly as possible. 

The order also includes several counties in East Texas. 

“By issuing this declaration, Texas is providing local officials with the resources they need to quickly respond and recover from this storm,” said Governor Abbott. “My heart goes out to the Texans impacted by this severe weather, and the people of Texas can rest assured that the state will do everything it can to assist those affected by these horrific storms.”